Sound Cat Records

4526 Liberty Ave. Pittsburgh, PA 15224

(412) 621-3256


  • Monday-Thursday 11 - 7
  • Friday 11 - 8
  • Saturday 10 - 7
  • Sunday 12 - 5

News From Sound Cat

TV On The Radio - Happy Idiot (Official) November 20, 2014
Finally got some copies of the new Tv on the Radio joint "Seeds" in stock on lp. Pretty good day for restocks in general too with lps fluttering in by Oneohtrix Point Never, Nirvana, Pink Floyd, Iron and Wine, William Onyeabor, Pissed Jean, Sleater Kinney, The Shins, Jeff Buckley, Can, Hum, Modest Mouse, Funkadelic, Shabazz Palaces, Whirr and much much more. Here's the first video from the aforementioned TV on the Radio for you to enjoy (maybe more if your a fan of the recent incarnations of Dr. Who).
Video: TV On The Radio - Happy Idiot (Official)
November 18, 2014
It's an avalanche of good stuff here today at The Cat. Hot of the presses and just in is the new "First Demo" Lp by Fugazi! We also restock lp's by Bad Brains, Bikini Kill, Slant 6, Soulside, Rollins Bands, Minor Threat, Nation of Ulysses and a bunch of of other Fugazi restocks. Ahh, once upon a time we all had hair.
November 18, 2014
Alright, let's talk about today's New Release Cds! New at The Cat today are releases by Ariel Pink, Robert Wyatt, TV on the Radio, Grouper, Burial Hex, David Bowie, Otis Taylor, Bryan Ferry and Fred Frith with John Butcher. Reissues today include Magma, The Rolling Stones, The Old 97's, Genesis, De La Soul, Gentle Giant, Albert Collins, Peter Paul & Mary, John Prine as well as the Wilco Best of. It is also box set season so there are new sets from Captain Beefheart and Bruce Springsteen. Let's listen to a Wilco song
Grouper - Holding November 18, 2014
It's the week before Thanksgiving which means a HUGE Release day! With this first post we're gonna just cover Lp's. So, In stock today are new or recent releases by Ariel Pink, Ty Segall, Eiko Ishibashi, Dope Body, Cave, Grouper, David Bowie, Brant Bjork, Rober Wyatt as well as reissuse or previously unavailable recordings by The George Edwards Group, Spacemen 3, Thelonoius Monk, John Coltrane, De La Soul, and The Old 97's. There is also 2 new Bonnie Prince Billy 7's and new Lp Box Sets By Captain Beefheart and Wilco! And now a song from the new Grouper that seems to my ears to match the weather.
Video: Grouper - Holding
Ariel Pink - Put Your Number In My Phone (Official Audio) November 17, 2014
In stock tomorrow at Sound Cat: Ariel Pink, "Pom Pom." Tuesday brings a whole bunch of releases into the store, including a new album from Ariel Pink on LP and CD. "It’s funny, melancholy, randy, touching, disgusting and deeply, deeply strange," says the NME review.
Video: Ariel Pink - Put Your Number In My Phone (Official Audio)
Dead Kennedys - Forward To Death November 16, 2014
Used lps are all full up as of right now! So, if you stop in tomorrow you may find used lps by Eden Ahbez, Alumbrados, Aorta, Joe Bataan, The Beatles, The Belle Brigade, Big Brother & Holding Company, Black Keys, Art Blakey, David Bowie, Anthony Braxton, Lenny Bruce, Johnny Cash, Chirco, Nels Cline (with Wally Shoup and Greg Campbell), Tim Cohen, Alice Coltrane, Dead Kennedys, Def Leppard, J. Dilla, The Dillards, Bonnie Dobson, Bob Dylan, Eden's Children, The Extra Lens, Bill Evans, Paul Flaherty (with Chris Corsano and C. Spencer Yeh), Gang Green, The Heads, Ben Miller Band, Joni Mitchell, New Dawn, Pink Floyd, Rolling Stones, Rupert's People, The Sixth Station, Songs Ohia, The Tremeloes, Dino Valente Dustin Wong and Richard Youngs. I have nothing witty to say, i only have this song.
Video: Dead Kennedys - Forward To Death
Belle & Sebastian - Belle & Sebastian November 12, 2014
Matador's Belle and Sebastian vinyl reissues continue this week with "The Boy With the Arab Strap" and EP collection "Push Barman to Open Old Wounds," which are both now in stock at Sound Cat. Plus, we restocked other B&S classics "If You're Feeling Sinister" and "Tigermilk" on LP, along with a bunch of other Matador-distributed titles, including the new ones from Perfume Genius and Dean Blunt.
Video: Belle & Sebastian - Belle & Sebastian
It November 11, 2014
Another big November Release Date with new lp's by Pink Floyd, Yonatan Gat, Mark McGuire, Cult of Youth, Dream Police, Foo Fighters, Iggy Azalea, Contact, as well as lp reissues by Bedhead, Afghan Whigs, Joan Jett, Stan Getz and Clifford Brown. On the Cd side of things is The New Basement Tapes (Elvis Costello, Marcus Mumford and others doing covers of newly found Dylan Lyrics), Marianne Faithfull, Foo Fighters, Broughton Rules, Dream Police, Cult of Youth, and Antony & the Johnsons. There are reissue cds by Bedhead (the box set), Queen, and The Kinks. Also, or finally, there is and Ornette Coleman dvd! Here's a track from Pink Floyd's new one!
Video: It's What We Do (Full) - Pink Floyd - New Album - New Song 2014
Contact Is the Sci-Fi Music Project Created by Two Artists Who Have Never Met | NOISEY November 10, 2014
In stock tomorrow at Sound Cat: Contact, "First Contact" 12" EP. Tomorrow's batch of new releases includes a new project from Pittsburgher Tony Paterra (Zombi, Majeure), a collaboration with British composer Paul Lawler called Contact. You can read more about it here...
Link: Contact Is the Sci-Fi Music Project Created by Two Artists Who Have Never Met | NOISEY

Sound Cat Records Facebook Page